This traditional settlement with its beautiful houses and cobbled streets is one of the most beautiful villages of Evrytania. The name of the village comes from the ancient word 'Korys' (meaning helmet) and they say that in ancient times they made weapons in “Kaminia” location.
Important events of modern Greek history took place in this village. The National Council of Free Greece had a meeting here on the 14th – 27th of May,1944. Also during the Greek Civil War brutal events took place in the surrounding forests. Moreover, the first assembly of the National Council of Free Greece happened in the Elementary School of Koryschades on the 14th – 28th of May, 1944. 202 counselors participated from all over Greece.
South of the village and within walking distance of “Koumasia” location you will see the old monastery of Virgin Mary, which was built in the 17th century and used to be called "Refuge" or Kumasi Monastery. On June 20th, 1821 it was destroyed by the Turks and was rebuilt by the local residents. In August 1944 it was burnt down again, this time from the German invaders. The current church was built on the same location in 1950 and it was funded by old residents of Evrytania who lived in America at that time.
Koryschades village combines two realities every weekend: the traditional lifestyle of the villagers with the modern lifestyle of visitors. And perhaps this is what makes this village so unique.



